When Fiction Transects Real Life

I just had a moment today.

You know when something so unexpected, something so delightful, and so seemingly small in significance yet so joy-bringing happens to you…

And you…just….feel….dizzy?

Oh boy did I have a moment like that today.

On a website far far away, my path crossed with something out of my dreams.

Do you have a favorite author that you follow, not just occasionally read a book or two, but spend years searching the internet for volumes of their work because their writing is so addictive, so well-done, so incredibly different and unique from anything else you’ve read in your life?  With the kind of characters that you really wish you could meet and greet like old friends in your every day life?

Well, that’s what happened to me.

I stumbled upon such an author, that I never even imagined coming across ever, didn’t even occur to me to try to write to…but just thought I would forever savour every little morsel of her writing.

And when I stumbled across this author (who would be so obscure to so many people on this planet – a rare jewel of a find I found years ago), I sent her a message. And she wrote back! She wrote me back THE SAME DAY. Within minutes. And SHE WAS SO NICE! Just like an ordinary mortal like you and me…wow!

But it gets better, this little story and little moment of mine.

Because on that website far far away, I had started a writer’s group months ago. One that grew until it now contains 219 members today. That’s 219 WRITERS all in ONE place.

And today, this famous author that I admire so much – with one click,  decided to join my writer’s group, on that website. Without even a prompting from me.

Can I even describe how that made me feel?

It’s like a kid who discovers Santa is REAL.

Wow.
Oh happy day!

I still feel dizzy.

0 Responses to “When Fiction Transects Real Life”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Video Montage: The Flow
Following the flow of the universe, with a photo montage I created. The song is "Twisted Hair" by Robbie Robertson & The Red Road Ensemble, featuring the sublime operatic voice of Sioux singer Bonnie Jo Hunt, who sings over the sound of crickets.
Also posted on youtube:

Blog Stats

  • 5,942 hits

Pages

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

