sacred space

I’ve had this on my mind sometime, the idea of sacred space.

The sacred space within our minds and souls. The creation of a sacred space in a physical time and location. When those two levels of sacred space come together, it can literally be mind blowing. I know. I’ve been there, experienced that, had my mind go to that elsewhere, where the spirit soars and becomes something else. When you become one with the universe and all of the universe’s creations.

Have you been there? Have you felt this? I would love to hear your stories about your sacred space.

I consider myself to be a spiritual being. I have so many different beliefs it would be difficult to explain how I define myself, in terms of my faith and beliefs. I touched briefly on it, in one blog, that you can revisit if you like.

I can tell you that I have touched sacred space in many moments of my life. I’ve felt bliss. Pure, undiluted, limitless and beautiful, blessed bliss. Yes I have been blessed by bliss.

I’ve been thinking a lot about sacred space and bliss since I attended a friend’s drum circle for the first time, last month. It was a new experience for me. It was a pagan-based drum circle but it could have a been a circle out of any spiritual energy, the gathering of so much positive energy created through the sounds of drums and song. I love been exposed to new experiences like that, with free spirits so open to sharing of light and love. My mind took me elsewhere that night. And the music from the drums and singing voices reverbated within me for some time, as I walked home that night, and the weeks to come.

It was a sacred space that took my mind to a new sacred space.

It made me think of other times in my life where I shared energy with others, with group meditation and sharing, and also about the times when I have experienced a sacred space and bliss on my own.

Like many years ago, in a very funky loft in The Plateau district, in a somewhat sketchy looking neighbourhood. I had seen a small ad in one of our local free newspapers advertising a group meditation involving the use of kirtan, a new word and style of music I discovered. Kirtan (Sanskrit: “to repeat”;[1] also Sankirtan[2]) is call-and-response chanting or “responsory” performed in India’s devotional traditions.[3] A person performing kirtan is known as a kirtankar. Kirtan practice involves chanting hymns or mantras to the accompaniment of instruments.

The group meditation was hosted by a totally loveable young group of “Peace Love” Quebecois hippies, who wandered through-out the province of Quebec and set up these group medititation sessions as they passed through each town or city.

They had a guitar and a drum and passed around some home made muffins as we chanted and sang together in this strange loft space that they had rented from this arty looking bald guy who wandered in and out while the meditation went on.

When the session finished they gifted me with a charming wooden prayer bracelet and promised to contact me when they next had a session in Montreal. They were so sweet and free and positive. That music we created together was so powerful and positive it lifted my soul up and up and soooo very up. Ah it was heaven.

They would call me from time to time to let me know when they were in town but I was never able to make another session. And one day they disappeared. But that was OK. I was happy with the gift of that moment and the sacred space we had created together.

Other times I have felt that sacred space in even the most everyday moments in my life. Sometimes I’ve felt it as I rode the metro and looked around me to see the beautful light of every person’s Higher Self shining out around me. Sometimes I’ve found that sacred space from simply breathing in the whispering green trees. Trees sometimes seem so beautiful to me I’ve been known to spontaneously hug them. Just because. 

There have been other times I have felt the sacred space in my mind and soul as my mind floated up from a simple meditation at home, where I felt myself go up and up into the stars and beyond. Marvelling at all the millions of millions of souls all sharing our world and the sheer beauty of that soul-sharing.

What a sacred space we inhabit on this earth, every day we live another day of life!

There is a sacred space every way you look, within and without, around you.
Blessed we are indeed.

Anima Blue 🙂

0 Responses to “sacred space”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Video Montage: The Flow
Following the flow of the universe, with a photo montage I created. The song is "Twisted Hair" by Robbie Robertson & The Red Road Ensemble, featuring the sublime operatic voice of Sioux singer Bonnie Jo Hunt, who sings over the sound of crickets.
Also posted on youtube:

Tweeting Thoughts

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Blog Stats

  • 5,945 hits

Pages

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

