So Long & Thanks For All The Fish!

I have had  Towel Day and Douglas Adams’ epitath on my mind and have been contemplating it: what would I want to leave behind with my life? How would I want to be remembered?

Sometimes I have asked friends to describe me and they came up with all sorts of words, some of which surprised me. Such as : funny.

I had to admit that threw me but then again why did it? I do love to laugh and especially love to make people laugh. Laughter heals a host of ills, as they say. It is simply one of the very bestest things you can share with a good friend – a laugh.

Funny that laughter is the first thing that comes to my mind.  🙂

You would think I would pick compassion and empathy. Those twin thoughts have indeed followed me all my life. How many days of my life have complete strangers been drawn to me, looking for a friend, for a friendly companion or simply someone to listen to them? I am always amazed and saddened to find just how many people in the world literally have not a soul to listen to them.

And today, one of those people came up to me out of the blue and said he was looking for a friend.

Ah. I must have some kind of energy that radiates empathy and compassion or something.

But is that what I want to be remembered by, what I want to leave behind?

I have been thinking this not because I plan to pop off any day but because I am trying to figure out just what the meaning of my life should be.

Reaching out and touching people with my simple words, yes that is a hope I have. And if a person or two might have their day brightened by something I said or wrote, why what a wonderful joy that would be!

Positive energy. I think that is what I hope to share with people in my life, in this life-time. In one form or other.

The hope for better days. The blessing of lessons learned. The simple abundance of being alive.

These wonderful things I hope to share with others, during my many inner and outer travels.

Oh and the fish are great too.

Anima Blue 😀

2 Responses to “So Long & Thanks For All The Fish!”


  1. 1 Evelyne@CheapEthnicEatz June 20, 2011 at 8:55 am

    Always get a smile when I read your words or hear your voice, and hope it is vice versa

  2. 2 animablue June 22, 2011 at 3:06 am

    Dear E,

    Thank you so much for your kind comment.
    It’s always a pleasure to hear your voice and read your words in every part of my life!

    Aurora 😀


Leave a Reply

Video Montage: The Flow
Following the flow of the universe, with a photo montage I created. The song is "Twisted Hair" by Robbie Robertson & The Red Road Ensemble, featuring the sublime operatic voice of Sioux singer Bonnie Jo Hunt, who sings over the sound of crickets.
Also posted on youtube:

Blog Stats

  • 5,942 hits

Pages

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

