The Voice and The Silence

In order to find my voice, I had to lose my voice.
Life is funny that way, no?

I recently came down with a throat infection and literally had to stop talking. And those who know what a chatty cathy I can be, would know that losing my voice would definitely impact me.

But I discovered that I liked having no voice.

I was stuck at home, voiceless, delirious with fever, and it gave me time to think about things. Yes blogs I want to write. But also about my dreams and things I want to accomplish in my life.

Suddenly I had a craving for complete silence, going beyond just the silencing of my own voice, and I turned everything off, to not hear the sounds – the noise – distracting me from my thoughts.

The only thing I listened to was the whispering of the trees. I had missed hearing it, noticing it, that soft sigh. For the whispering of the trees is a sacred sound to me. It reminds me to look around at this miraculous thing called life and the miraculous organisms living around me. It reminds me to look deep inside myself, to listen to my own heartbeat.

With the whispering of the trees I connect to a profound Silence. A silence felt in my soul. Kind of like the mad scientist’s aha! moment, but sounding more like a simple YES. In that simple YES there is a remembering of who I am and my soul’s path in this life.

The timing of this also fit in well with my reading a whole bunch of books from one of my favourite authors, The Great Alchemist, Paolo Coelho. More about his writings to come in another blog.

I had forgotten the bliss I felt when reading Paolo Coelho’s books. In his writing there is a sublime simplicity, a Truth of All Things, which often makes me stop to absorb these wonders.

And with the five Paolo Coelho books I read within my convalescence, it also brought me back to that sacred and profound Silence of The Soul. When the soul realizes its magnificence and abundance and is simply happy to *be*.

I hope you are blessed with a Silence of The Soul as well.

 Anima Blue 🙂

0 Responses to “The Voice and The Silence”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Video Montage: The Flow
Following the flow of the universe, with a photo montage I created. The song is "Twisted Hair" by Robbie Robertson & The Red Road Ensemble, featuring the sublime operatic voice of Sioux singer Bonnie Jo Hunt, who sings over the sound of crickets.
Also posted on youtube:

Blog Stats

  • 5,942 hits

Pages

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

